Remember me? It's Alyssa, aka glarb aka glarbinator

Heyyooo!

So I was an active MGSF member from 2004-2009ish after getting obsessed with Snake Eater. I first joined 17 years ago when I was 12, and I just turned 30 a week ago. I don’t play video games much nowadays–I built a beastly gaming PC thinking I would get back into gaming and play Cyberpunk 2077 once in a while but tbh I use most of the processing power just to edit photos and videos.

Since I left MGSF I went to college, lived in the woods for 6 months straight with no phone or internet and became a trail worker for a few years. Got my degree in kinesiology in 2018 and haven’t used it because IDGAF about the fitness industry anymore lol. Currently I work as a native habitat restoration technician at an environmental non-profit and I love it. I get paid to plant stuff, take out weeds and watch birds and it’s pretty dope!

2020 - 2021 has been fucking insane though. Almost exactly a year ago today I was super stoned in the shower and decided to do a breast self-check for the first time ever and I found a lump. Got it checked out and I was diagnosed with stage IV breast cancer last summer. My shitty ex-boyfriend that I dated for 3 years peaced out because he can’t handle real life and bailed as soon as things weren’t fun anymore, right after I was diagnosed. It’s incredibly rare to get this kind of cancer at this age but lucky me! The average life expectancy is 3 years but I hope to live much longer than that. I just finished chemo and have surgery in 2 weeks, then a month of radiation in 6 weeks.

Treatment has fucking sucked, not gonna lie, but I’ve been feeling a bit better over the last month and had an awesome time celebrating my birthday with my best friend who was born 3 days after me. I went snowboarding and skydiving for the second time. <3

I’m bald af rn but I got a wig made out of my hair and can still look like my pre-cancer self if I put in the time haha

Anyway hello!

14 Likes